Reviews

Filed in Reviews 12 comments

Amelia Oceanfront BB on the Beach of Fernandina BeachSince we started as the new Innkeepers on January 1, 2012 with quite a few bad reviews from the past to overcome, we have asked our guests to leave honest and fair reviews.

We know that peer reviews and word of mouth are key in the hospitality world, and we are delighted that so many guest have been leaving raving reviews. Based on their input we will continue to improve the vacation experience at Amelia Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast.

Here is what Tripadvisor says about us.

Here is what BedandBreakfast.com says about us.

 

“Fantastic place, wonderful innkeepers!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 – We just returned from a week long soul soothing stay at this peaceful, quaint, charming oceanfront B&B. We stayed in the “Sea- Clusion ” cute, cozy suite on 2nd floor with the most amazing view! Meditating on the beach at sunrise and sunset, wonderful breakfast made and delivered to our suite by Han himself. Star gazing on the beach for hours! It was so hard to leave. Innkeepers TJ and Han made us feel so special on our 20 year anniversary! Awesome place and very special people. We will definitely return!
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple

“Why did I have to leave???”

Reviewed August 12, 2013 – My only hesitation in reviewing Amelia Oceanfront B&B is that I’d like to selfishly keep this gem to myself! The location is absolutely the best on the island! There is nothing more relaxing than to have a delicious breakfast on the beach. Han’s hospitality and culinary skills made this an even better vacation. We are a family of 4– including a 14 yr. old boy and an 18 yr. old girl– all of us had a wonderful time. We stayed in “Sea-esta”; very clean and well decorated. I’m counting the days until we go back. Stayed August 2013, traveled with family

“Relaxing retreat”

Reviewed August 4, 2013 – Great small B & B right on the beach. We had a large suite with windows opening toward the beach. Everything was provided…beach towels, umbrellas, chairs and even beach toys! Quaint place to stay that reflects the beach lifestyle. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. It was served at your convenience within a timeframe. You could have it in your room, on the patio area, or at the table just at the edge of the beach. You do not have to “meet in the dining area at a certain time and be among a crowd.” Very personal service, but not intrusive. This is a great value. Love this place and will definitely return.
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple

“Great Honeymoon Spot”

Reviewed July 26, 2013 – My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Amelia oceanfront is very memorable. The house is right on the beach, in fact directly behind low lying sand dunes. We stayed in one of the first floor rooms (sea for two) which had a beautiful view of sunrises in the morning. The bedroom had windows on 3 sides, and when the windows are open it feels like you are sleeping right on the beach. It is close enough to the water that we were able to spot whales and dolphins from inside.
The innkeepers TJ and Han are very nice people. What others have mentioned is true – Han is quite a good cook. For lunch and dinner they also provided very good recommendations in town. The Amelia oceanfront made our drive down from NY well worth it. I did not see any other hotels or B&Bs in the area with as great a location and visual charm as this inn has.
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple

“Memorable B&B Right on the Beach!”

Reviewed June 29, 2013 – Our family (two adults, two teenage girls), recently spent several wonderful days at this charming bed and breakfast located right on the beautiful beach. Our room was spotless and well-appointed, and we loved the convenience of being able to walk out of the door and right down to the beach, while others were fighting for public parking spaces in order to get to the beach! Han’s huge and delicious breakfasts are not to be missed–he cooks with a Dutch/French flair, and the meals can either be delivered to you at a table on the patio, or directly to your room. Something different each day: Western omelets on day one, pancakes with blueberries on day 2, and an incredible eggs Benedict on the third day! You’re so full, you almost don’t need lunch! Han and TJ are wonderful hosts–this is an experience we will treasure and we will stay with them again when we return to Amelia Island.
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family

“Sssooo wonderful!!!”

Reviewed June 26, 2013 – A much needed escape directly on the beach!!! This B&B has it ALL – super duper warm hospitality, scrumpdeliciousious-mouth-watering – filling breakfasts, central locale with gorgeous views. An absolute definite redo!
Stayed June 2013

“Memorable 50th Birthday Celebration at Amelia Oceanfront B&B”

Reviewed June 3, 2013 – My fiance surprised me with a Memorial Day weekend trip to Amelia Island to celebrate my 50th birthday. Despite some travel difficulties (United canceled our flight to Jacksonville, and we ended up flying to Orlando and driving 3 hours to arrive at midnight on my birthday!), our trip was fabulous! Han and TJ are so gracious and accommodating; and Han’s breakfasts are nothing short of amazing! Our “Sea-renity” suite provided just that – a serene and relaxing escape from our busy lives. The suite was comfortable and well-appointed with anything that we needed. The location was perfect, on an uncrowded beach with the soothing sound of the waves rolling in. We walked off our big breakfasst each morning, and soaked up the sun on the beach for the rest of the day before heading out for evening activities. The entire weekend was peaceful, unencumbered and fun. Beautiful place, delicious food, unsurpassed hospitality…

“One of our favorite B&Bs!”

Reviewed May 30, 2013 – Memorial Day weekend was the third visit to Amelia Oceanfront B&B for my husband and I, and our second one with the new owners Han and TJ. They are awesome hosts, and make you feel at home, and welcome. We were disappointed in several things on our first visit with the old owners, but Han and TJ have definitely changed things for the better! All three times we have stayed in the same room, “Sea for Two.” And Han and TJ have made some nice updates to it. And it is by far one of the cleanest rooms we have stayed in. We love the fact that it is not just a bedroom, but like a small apartment with separate living area and kitchen. Han’s breakfasts are huge and delicious, which he brings to you out on the porch overlooking the beach, or in your room if you prefer! We were so full we didn’t need lunch at all. The location is the best you could want at the beach. You step out the door and you are right in the dunes. They have beach loungers and umbrellas, which are a nice touch. We have stayed at many B&Bs on our travels and this is one of our absolute favorites. We will be back for sure!

“The Perfect Hideaway” -

Reviewed May 28, 2013 – Our family, which included three generations from toddler to doting grandparents, spent an absolutely delightful weekend on the beach here at the Amelia Oceanfront Bed & Breakfast. This facility has all of the comforts of home, and then some. The view is to die for, and the hospitality simply could not have been better. We loved it and want to return as soon as possible.

“Paradise at the beach!!!”

Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile – My hubby and I stayed for a weekend during the annual shrimp festival. The weather didn’t corporate but it didn’t matter- we had a fabulous time! The Inn is directly on the beach, the room is gorgeous and immaculate! The Inn keepers Hans and T.J. Couldn’t have been nicer! He even prepared a special breakfast for my Hubby who had dietary restrictions at the time. And by the way- absolutely delicious!!! We cannot wait to go back!! The town is awesome too!

“A great bed and breakfast experience!”

Reviewed April 10, 2013 – We attended a wedding in Fernandina and not knowing a thing about where to stay, we decided to try a bed and breakfast. I don’t know a thing about what that entails, but we decided to give it a shot. We got there and I didn’t realize that the check in was at 3 O’clock. They were nice enough to get the room ready for us as soon as they could which was great since we travelled all night to get there in the morning. First let me say the room was super clean, and I didn’t actually pull off the bedspread as I normally do at most motels! The bed was comfortable and we were literally 10 steps away from the beach. We could see it outside our window. I can’t believe this is the Florida I’ve seen on “Cops”. The next morning we were greeted with a great breakfast that featured some Chipotle mushrooms that I could eat a bowl of. So good! We had a great stay and I would go again in a minute. Oh! and they have a parking spot adjacent. Take that San Diego!

“Perfect”

Reviewed March 24, 2013 – We eloped on this perfect beach. TJ and Han were great sports, spoiled us with extras and great breakfasts. I left all the details in their capable hands, and everything was simply fantastic. We stayed in Sea-Clusion. Wake up to sounds of crashing waves and the sunrise. Head out for a sunrise walk, and make it back for a hand-delivered breakfast in your suite. Great conversation if you want it, seclusion if you want it. Fantastic 1938 beach house. No resort snobbery here! Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple

“Our New Favorite!”

Reviewed March 12, 2013 – My wife and I have spent many nights at a couple of different B & B’s on Amelia Island, but came across this one just recently. I don’t think we will stay anywhere else if it can be helped. The setting is charming and right on the oceanfront. The proprietors have done a great job on the decor and provide so much more than one expects. Han is a fantastic host, and makes breakfast each morning. He brings it to your room, which is nice, and his menus are a blast! I’m already looking forward to our next visit and can’t wait to see the breakfasts that Han will come up with. He and his B & B are gems…. Now I’m worried that this place will become too popular and we will have a hard time getting a room!

“Very Nice Stopover”

Reviewed March 1, 2013 – Only here for one night and it was great. The inn was on the ocean with a great view from the room. The only problem was we didn’t have time to really enjoy the property. Everything was clean and up to date. The best part was the fine breakfast brought to our room. Hope to return soon when we can spend more time to really enjoy this beautiful spot. Thanks to Hans and TJ. Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple.

“Awesome”

Reviewed February 20, 2013 – My wife and I had one of the most enjoyable getaways of our lives at this B&B. We stayed in the Sea for Two suite. It is a wonderful little hideaway, yet has everything you would need for a comfortable stay. There is even a Keurig coffee maker in the kitchenette which was a nice surprise. The king size bed is extremely comfortable. The view of the ocean from the living room and the bedroom is delightful, and the sound of the ocean that can be heard from the suite is soothing. You literally walk out the back door and are on the beach, and it is a shell hunter’s paradise. Han and TJ are wonderful hosts. It can’t be overstated how terrific and filling Han’s breakfasts are – simply unbelievable. We stayed two nights and would loved to have stayed longer. We do intend to return.

“Serenity by the sea”

Reviewed January 21, 2013 – I just spent 3 fabulous days on Amelia Island and this laid-back fabulous Inn. Hans and TJ are down to earth and the perfect hosts. They leave you to yourself but are there to answer any questions you may have.Huge breakfasts with a variety of items so that all taste buds will be satisfied and more. The Inn has the old time charm with many walls of original pine paneling but with color and fun decor. Subtle and comfortable!Highly recommend for a get-a-way any time of the year! Stayed January 2013, traveled solo.

“Weekend in Paradise!”

Reviewed January 6, 2013 – Previous reviews have said it all…this B&B is perfect in every way. Han is a wonderful cook and great conversationalist, and the rooms are clean, comfortable, and spacious. We were in the Sea for Two suite, perfect for our anniversary weekend. Our only regret is that we couldn’t stay longer; there is so much to do in Fernandina Beach. I guess we’ll just have to return!
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple

“LOVED staying here!”

Reviewed January 2, 2013 – The suite was so beautiful. It’s literally as close to sleeping on the beach that you can get, but with a king sized bed, plush living room and kitchen. Our stay was so relaxing and re-energizging! The breakfasts were huge and wonderful! Han makes amazing concoctions to tailor to dietary needs and brings them right to your door every morning. Everything was clean and comfortable. Waking up to see the ocean as your first sight was amazing. If you want a clean, private, quiet and luxurious place- this is most definitely it. It’s relatively close to town, maybe a 10-15 minute drive, but far enough away to get away from the hustle and bustle and find serenity and peace. Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple.

“Would definitely stay again”

Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile – Although an old house it has a lot of character, and is very clean which is most important to us. Inn keeper Han is very friendly and a wonderful cook. Breakfast was amazing. If you like looking for treasurers (shells and such) walk out your door and onto the beach and there is an abundance of them. Not too far from the historic downtown with lots of shopping. We will return for sure. Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple.

 

“Fantastic Stay”  November 20, 2012 – Kim G

The perfect get away!!! My friend & I stayed in the upstairs suite “Seas The Day” with a amazing view of the ocean , along with a very spacious and beautiful room. We stayed for two nights and did not want to leave! Honestly the best sleep ive had in a long time, the sound of the waves crashing were awesome! We felt like queens with the treatment and the breakfast Han cooked… WOW :) I can not wait to plan another stay!

• 2 steps to the sand - Reviewed on: 4/18/2012

If you want to literally take 2 steps to have your feet immersed in sand, and enjoy the ocean breezes and surf, this is the place for you. The owners, Han & TJ will do whatever to make your stay enjoyable. The inn is as close to the water as one can get, yet realize the beach is never crowded. Enjoy the peace and solitude of Florida’s finest beach area

• Well worth a visit – Reviewed on: 4/18/2012

Amelia Island is fantastic. The Oceanfront B&B is perfectly situated on a quieter stretch of the beach. Hosts went all out to accommodate and make our visit memorable. The B&B is also very kid friendly and quiet (in spite of all the rooms being occupied!). Two thumbs up (and we’ll be back)…..

• Great weekend getaway – Reviewed on: 4/17/2012

Have stayed here several times, keep coming back. Several upgrades since last visit. Highly recommend!

• Very comfortable – Hosts very friendly – Reviewed on: 4/15/2012

Right on the beach and private. We would return.

• “Comfortable right on the ocean” – Reviewed April 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our ocean-front stay at this B&B. The rooms were very clean and adequately furnished. I don’t think that there is an inn any closer to the ocean, in that the building is built on a dune. The innkeepers did everything to make our stay enjoyable, including the preparation of a huge breakfast from scratch every morning. An ice-maker,laundry and complete kitchen is available to guests. (Innkeeper’s NOTE: Ice Maker yes, Laundry facility and kitchen is private). Aside from the ocean-front location, the inn is perfectly placed between Atlantic and Sadler roads, making getting around the island very easy. This was our second stay and we will definately return. The only down-side was that our room adjoined another through a connecting door, and we could hear everything being said in the next room. Han promised to address this in the near future. (Innkeeper’s Note = Issue  Is addressed)

• “Wonderful Visit!” Reviewed April 13, 2012

Weekend get-aways are difficult for us, but I made one phone call and everything was taken care of. We arrived a little early, but the room was prepared soon and was absolutely perfect. Our room faced the beach, we had a kitchenette with access to the main kitchen for ice and other incidentals. Although unused due to a cold front, beach gear was available (chairs, boogie boards). Breakfast was served to our room and, although absolutely delicious, it was way more food than we could possibly eat. Recommendations to local spots were perfect for the type of activities we wanted.The room was clean, the kitchenette had everything we needed and the owners very personable. They made sure all was well and our needs met, but allowed for our privacy as well. Our mini-vacation was absolutely perfect and we will be going back. I can’t thank Jan & TJ enough for their hospitality!

Liked — location & price

Disliked — Nothing – maybe just the unseasonal cold weather.

• Comfortable beachfront b&b Reviewed on: 4/9/2012

My wife and I had a very good experience at this b&b. TJ and Han have done a great job with this place since they took it over at the beginning of 2012. They were very friendly to us. Han makes fantastic breakfasts with a Dutch flair. One day they gave us a bottle of wine just so that we didn’t have to go out buy one – so we just stayed at our outdoor seating area overlooking the beach, having a drink, as day turned to evening. The best word to describe this place is comfortable. It is comfortable in a “beach bum fantasy” kind of way. If you’re laid back and value your privacy, this is for you.

• Wonderful Experience! 5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

“Hospitality at it’s Finest” should be TJ and Han’s new motto. . It’s rather strange to feel like you have somehow stumbled across long-lost family members in your travels – but that’s EXACTLY how they (and their staff) made my son and I feel – as though we had “come home” for a long-lost visit. PERFECTION in innkeeping, by the way – comfortable, CLEAN rooms, well thought-out amenities in each one of them. You cannot beat the on-the-beach setting – and the experience of wonderful conversations with other guests (some from around the world) on a moonlit night, listening to the waves crash deep into the night . . . it doesn’t get ANY better than this, folks! My son and I did not want to leave – and we are DEFINITELY coming back! This was our first experience away from the “gulf-side” of vacation – and there are SO many more things to see and experience here at Fernandina Beach (at Amelia Oceanfront B&B of course!)

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family

•“The perfect getaway!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My mom, husband, and I stayed at this Bed and Breakfast for a few days, and we loved it! TJ and Han were very personable, and a lot of fun to talk with. Every morning we were served a delicious breakfast outside right on the ocean. It was wonderful. In addition, they gave us great suggestions for places to eat (not the tourist traps either!) and things to do around town. They made us feel right at home, and we can’t wait to come back and visit again!
Room Tip: We stayed in one of the smaller rooms down stairs with a full bed and bunk beds. It was fine for us…
LJS – Miami Beach

• “Nice B&B” – Reviewed March 29, 2012

This B&B has a very nice location. It is right on the beach and convenient to pop into Fernadina for dinner or shopping. TJ and Han, the innkeepers are super friendly and serve a big breakfast! We stayed in the Sea for Two Suite which was very spacious with a large bathroom (with Jacuzzi tub, no shower), a kitchenette, t.v. room and bedroom. The weather was nice and we were able to enjoy the sounds of the surf while we were there.
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple – Beth R JACKSONVILLE, FL

• Girl’s Getaway weekend! 5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

What a great find! We arrived at Ameila Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast to happily find that it is literally on the beach! We were welcomed by owners TJ and Han, who provided us with a printout of activities in town that were happening during our stay. TJ and Han also gave us great restaurant suggestions and are a hoot to sit and chat with. Each suite in the B&B has an ocean view, either from the bedroom or from the living room. With the small refrigerator, coffeemaker, and microwave, it is almost like having a little kitchen. Breakfasts were delivered on trays to our room each morning and we especially loved the cut up fresh fruit. The beds were very comfortable, with nice, soft sheets, pillows and blankets. We had an amazing time walking on the beach, searching for shells, shopping in town, and dining at tasty restaurants. And we loved the segway tour at Amelia Plantation through Ecomotion tours. We will definitely put this on our list of places worth visiting again!
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends.

• Perfect little Gem 5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Excellent location. We loved this beautiful little place. Peace and quite are important to us and this place really delivered. We stayed in Sea for Two, a delightful little apartment. Everything we needed was provided. The daily breakfast was very good but way too much food. Han and TJ really out did themselves. If you like tranquility and great hospitality, then this is the place for you. What an excellent getaway this was. Thanks to Han and TJ!!
Room Tip: For a romantic stay book sea for two. It has a jacuzie

• Our own little beach – Ron W from Orlando 5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We found the Amelia Oceanfront B&B to be a wonderful place to stay where the beaches were secluded and inviting. The room itself was well decorated and included several amenities to add an extra touch such as a coffee pot, microwave, fridge, DVD player w/ DVD’s, internet access, games, etc. The bunk beds were quite quaint. The breakfast was very good and prepared with quality and taste in mind.
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple

• Right B&B right on the beach – David S. Fort Pierce  - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Fabulous combination of sensations include the relaxing lullaby of a gentle surf, sumptuous breakfasts in your rooms, romantic walks on the beach, wonderful day hikes / bike rides, and impressive cuisine in town for both lunch and dinner. This was just what we needed, an easy getaway that we could even share with our well loved dog. The Amelia area was also a fascinating find with a walk back into history at both nearby Fort Clinch and the boat tour of Cumberland island. As you can see we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the Oceanfront to everyone…as long as there’s room for us to go back. Stayed February 2012, traveled with family

• B&B on the beach – Raskalnikof - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Old but well maintained 6 unit B&B that allows you to step out the door onto a long, beautiful beach. New managers Han and TJ provide a terrific breakfast delivered to your door. Each unit has a bedroom, living room, refrigerator, and microwave. The beach is great for swimming, shelling, and long secluded walks. You may catch dinner if you bring a surf rod.
Room Tip: Rooms are all large and comfortable, but the three upstairs have the best views of the ocean.
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple

• Breathtaking – Rentas Orlando - 4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast makes a wonderful getaway for those who want to have an intimate, private setting. The room, the views and the overall experience was exceptional. The Inn Keepers make you feel like family and the food was outstanding. The setting makes you feel like you actually own a piece of heaven on the beach and the comfort, privacy and beach front environment has no comparison. If you want to relax, re-energize and feel like a local then this is the place for you.
Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple

Hosts were friendly, helpful, and efficient. Gerald, Kingsport January

Units decorated in cute, appropriate “beach” decor. Ocean at your doorstep! Loved it!

• Fantastic! – Bed and Breakfast .com Stayed On 2 / 2012

I was a guest author at a local book festival earlier this month and had the pleasure of staying at the the Amelia Oceanfront Bed & Breakfast. Han and TJ are the perfect hosts at this adorable B&B. The oceanfront view is breathtaking (the ocean is literally just steps away). The food is delicious. The inn itself is charming and relaxing. In my opinion, this is the only place to stay on Amelia Island

• Feb 18, 2012   – Bo & Brynda Brown

This is the second time we have stayed at the B&B and this time it was even nicer (except for a visit to the hospital). We’re already looking forward to our next trip. Han & TJ could not have been more helpful. The suite “Sea’s the Day” was beautiful. TJ has been redecorating and Han, the food was excellent. Great way to start the day. I’d recommend any of the suites but our favorite is Sea’s the Day, waking up to the sunrise each morning at the beach. Can it get any better!

• Breathtaking Experience – Stayed On 1 / 2012

This Bed and Breakfast makes a wonderful getaway for those who want to have an intimate, private setting. The room, the views and the overall experience was exceptional. The Inn Keepers make you feel like family and the food was outstanding. The setting makes you feel like you actually “own” a piece of heaven on the beach and the comfort, privacy and beach front environment has no comparison. If you want to relax, re-energize and feel like a “local” then this is the place for you.

• February Weekend at Amelia Oceanfront B & B – Stayed On 2 / 2012

The Amelia Oceanfront Bed & Breakfast exceeded my expectations. My wife and I had a wonderful time. The location right on the beach couldn’t be better. We had breakfast outside one morning with a direct view of the beach. The room was outstanding, very comfortable and very roomy. Our hosts took us on a tour of their unoccupied rooms and showed us their rooms that would accommodate us and our two children. Our hosts were very helpful and were easily contacted by telephone when we needed anything. We will definitely be returning.

• Dalene and Jim

We just spent our Spring Break in the Sea-Esta Suite and Amelia Island. We fell in love with the island, the town of Fernandina, and the friendly people of the Amelia Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast. There was so much to do on the island, from sightseeing and shopping to dining and of course, enjoying the beach. The owners of the bed and breakfast made us feel like family. We can’t wait to return!

• Perfect night and perfect hosts – Paul and Delores - 5 of 5 stars

My partner & I arrived in Florida with no place to stay for our first night. Luckily, the lovely people at the welcome center were promoting Amelia Island. So with a tourist book in hand we found the Amelia Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast. We also found two of the loveliest and interesting friends! Han and TJ are the kind of people that you have to tear yourself away from because you know that you are taking up too much of their time. The hotel is so lovely and is actually more like a cottage than a sterile hotel. We loved it! Clean, spacious and oh-so right on the amazing beach. Don’t come here if you don’t love beautiful gorgeous sand.
Now, if you are looking for the typical big hotel experience you will be disappointed but then you shouldn’t be looking at this type of venue. However the amenities are all here. Our room had a whirlpool tub, complete kitchen with sitting/eating area, a king size bed, a lovely living area and free WiFi. It really was perfect for us. We’ll be back!

• “Wonderful ocean front B&B on Amelia Island, Florida” – Rene Groom  - 5 of 5 stars

Our stay at Amelia Oceanfront B&B was simply wonderful and more than expected. The pictures on the official website are just as posted and our room was actually more spacious than it appeared on the site. The innkeepers, T.J. and Han, were personable and extremely accommodating to all of our needs. They live across the street and readily accessible if needed. There is no common area as in traditional B&B. So you don’t have to worry about being dressed for breakfast and having to converse with strangers first thing in the morning.

Breakfast is served in the room and each one was scrumptious. If you are looking for a peaceful stay on the beach, you can’t go wrong here. There are only 6 rooms and the beach is literally right outside the door.
The B&B is not luxurious, but feels like a beach resort should feel- very relaxing & comfortable. We stayed 4 nights in the room called Seas the Day. It felt like a small apartment. Spacious with 2 bedrooms. Everything was very clean and well decorated. Queen bed is very comfortable. (Didn’t try out the 2 twin beds, but they look comfortable as well) There is a good size TV in the living area with good reception & cable as well as a DVD player and movies available to the guests at no charge. Sofa is fairly comfortable, but hopefully, no one plans on spending a lot of time of the couch. Dining room table big enough for 4 to eat comfortably. Room with the queen bed, as well as the living/dining area offers a spectacular view of the ocean. We slept with the windows open every night and listened to the ocean waves. It can’t get better than that.
I was allowed to view some of the other rooms. They are all well decorated and appear just as comfortable. Each room layout is a little different with varied areas having the ocean view. The kitchenette with microwave and small fridge are all we needed for our stay. There are no stoves in the room or outside grills, but our room a small George Foreman grill, and a pretty small sink. Pick up some paper plates/cups to avoid having to wash too many dishes. The lack of kitchen space may limit the amount of meals you can prepare in the room, but you can eat at a reasonable rate at the two closest restaurants which offer dining by the beach- Sliders and Sandy Bottoms. Both have excellent food and live music. (Beer by the pitcher is the better buy at Sandy Bottoms.) More upscale restaurants are found downtown and will be more expensive to eat at.

There is also grocery store/Wal-Mart within a couple of miles of the resort. There is a patio to sit and enjoy the sunrise/sunset. Awning on patio can be extended. Outside shower available to rinse off the sand. Beach lounge chairs are provided at no additional charge.
Most of the beach area rentals, in same proximity, back up to a main road (S. Fletcher) on this side of island, but the road noise could barely be heard from our room. The beaches are clean and the area seems very safe. Being January, we pretty much had the beach area to ourselves outside of a few walkers and fisherman. We even occasionally saw the dolphins, at a distance, from our beach area. There are a few boats that could be seen on occasion, but nothing that came very close to the beach area. We waded at the edge of the ocean, but wouldnít think swimming out very far would be recommended due to the strong current at the time we stayed. We did see some surfers in the area.
I would recommend renting a car. Walking/biking to areas is possibly if you are pretty physically fit. The island isnít that big and the historic downtown area is within a short drive. Couple of parks close by. Fort Cinch -definitely worth visiting. Riverboat cruise is located in the downtown area as well and highly recommended.
Overall, we loved this island and B&B. There are upcoming dates when the island will have car shows, music festivals etc. You will want to book early for these or avoid those dates if you want to come at a less busy time. Island activities/dates are posted at searchamelia.com.
Room Tip: at least 2 rooms have ocean view from bedroom, others may have ocean view from living area.

• We’ll Be Back! Kingsport TN - 5 of 5 stars

This is a great place to experience the “real” Amelia Island and not in a high rise. It is a small, older (historic) B & B directly on the ocean (six units). You literally walk out your front door and are four steps from the beach! We were delighted with the room decor, “beachy”. It made this formerly CA couple feel right at home. The owners were very friendly and helpful! Lots of beach equipment to borrow as you wish. We will return! Now TN Couple
Room Tip: We liked being upstairs with the fabulous view! Open your windows for ocean wave noise.

• I’m Going Back!! – Robin Ware - 5 of 5 stars

This B&B has 6 suites, no common areas but my “room” was more like an apartment with king bed, living room, kitchen, huge bathroom with soaking tub. I was the first guest for these new Innkeepers. They were wonderful! Han is a gourmet chef; TJ very personable. They even brought their dog to visit me. Cable TV, wi-fi, great breakfast but the real thing is that you can see and hear the ocean from your room! The beach was two steps outside the front door. I slept with the windows open to hear the ocean and was awakened each morning by the beautiful sunrise. I can’t say enough good things about this Inn. Here’s the best thing I can say, I was just there in December 2011 and am going back in February 2012. Don’t miss this if you love the beach/ocean. Oh, I think it IS important to mention that the Inn has new Innkeepers because I read some negative reviews about how it “was” and it is NOT like that now. Decorated with “beachy” things, clean, nautical. My new favorite place!
Room Tip: I stayed in the Sea for Two suite and had 6 windows facing the ocean. How wonderful to read and sleep..

Share
Posted by admin   @   23 April 2012 12 comments
Tags :

Share This Post

RSS Digg Twitter StumbleUpon Delicious Technorati

12 Comments

Comments
Jun 20, 2012
9:15 am
#1 Julie & Mary :

This B&B is the place to go if you want to have a completely relaxing time!The breakfasts were always wonderful and delivered to either your room or to you on the veranda – your choice. The room was a suite which gave us the opportunity to have lots of personal time or to go find others in the common outside area. The part of the beach is not crowded and the Inn itself was wuiet and peaceful. We can say enough nice things about this B&B AND Han & TJ!

Jul 1, 2012
4:29 pm
#2 Ray & John & Family :

We spent 3 amazing nights at the Inn. It could not have been more perfect. TJ and Han are wonderful, warm, friendly hosts. We enjoyed spending time chatting with them as much as sitting on the patio listening to the waves crash on the beach. The visit was relaxing and refreshing. The suite was charming and perfectly appointed. We can’t wait to go back. The beach, the Inn, the people – and did I mention the breakfast!!! Wake up people! Start day day with a belly full of goodies lovingly prepared by Han!

Jul 12, 2012
11:05 am
#3 Sonya Rossin :

We stayed for 4 nightin April and just loved it. The room we stay in had a great ocean view with the breeze blowing the curtains. The room was clean and the service was great. They have movies for the children, supplies for the kitchen, and a home cooked breakfast by the owners. TJ and Hon were great host and had great suggestions for places to eat and things to do. I would highly reccomend this Bed and Breakfast.

Jul 23, 2012
8:31 pm
#4 Carol MacDonald :

We only got to stay 1 night but it was WONDERFUL, the location, the waves, the people and that great breakfast….. definately need more!

Aug 5, 2012
3:45 pm
#5 Erwin Bill :

We couldn’t have found a more beautiful area to spend our 50th! Hon and TJ’s hospitality was outstanding. We loved the cozy atmosphere, the delicious and delightful breakfast, the beach right outside the door and the close location to Center Streets activities and restaurants. Fernandina Beach will be on our future travel plans with Han and TJ as our host and hostess.

Author Aug 5, 2012
7:46 pm
#6 admin :

Loved having you guys. Only wish you would have given us an earlier heads up on your 50th wedding anniversary. We now know and will make up for it on your next trip. Fair Winds and thank you for the nice words. TJ and Han

Sep 30, 2012
6:39 pm
#7 Connie M. White :

I spent 3 nights here in September. Having stayed here many times over the past 30 years, I can not say enough good things about my recent visit. The room was clean, bright and comfortable. Each day the wonderful breakfast was both attractively served and absolutely delicious! TJ and Hans are very personable and obviously care about their guests enjoying their time. They have added so many “touches” from beach towels for the guests to use to an umbrella by the door. I am looking forward to the next time I can go to this peaceful, beautiful place.

Oct 8, 2012
10:38 am
#8 Jeanie & Elwin :

Oct 6,2012
We found this B&B abt 12 yrs ago by accident. Stayed in the(then called) Sea Breeze (now Sea Esta) fell in love with the room & the whole place, the beach, town, etc. So quiet & peacefull. Right on the ocean, beautiful views. We have been back many, many times since, but this last visit (for our 10th annv.) we found some wonderful changes made by the new innkeepers, Han & TG. Very nice people, pleasant conversation, Han is a wonderful cook, serving a “real” from scratch, generouse breakfast. And they hand deliver to your door or on the patio if you choose. Very very clean & nicely decorated. I could go on & on, but you get the picture. We highly recommend.

Jan 4, 2013
12:17 pm
#9 Ed & Bev Stowe 10/23 thru 10/27ish :

We came to the Bed & Breakfast at the end of October 2012 to rest after our youngest daughter’s wedding. This was our 1st experience at a B&B and it was an answered prayer.
We had a wonderful relaxing stay and each day’s breakfast was a treat!! There is plenty to do in the area but, we were in need of peaceful rest and certainly found that.
Hans’ was a wonderful host,(his wife was busy in the excitement of the arival of their new family member). The atmosphere is amazing, very welcoming and warm. The beach is literally the back yard.
We hope to return year after year and want to make plans for the whole family as well!
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

May 29, 2013
5:14 pm
#10 C. Moriarty :

Spent 3 wonderful nights at this B&B and hope to make this at least a yearly trip. You feel right at home and suites are furnished like a beach cottage! Very roomy – we had the 2 bedroom suite and child friendly. Had a ton of beach toys available for guests along with beach towels. They even have sun block and aloe for those that may have forgotten to bring some. Breakfast was one of the highlights of the trip. Great selection of books to read, Han and TJ really have thought of everything to make the stay a real vacation. So happy to found this B&B.

Jun 18, 2013
9:45 am
#11 brenda & Kevin Hamm :

We absolutely loved our stay at the Inn ~ were there in Oct 2012. The inn is wonderful and Han and TJ are ideal hosts ~ don’t think you could find a nicer place to stay. Just browsing the pics in the gallery and saw some that I had shared with Han ~ such good memories. Thinking about heading back that way again this Oct.

Jun 28, 2013
10:38 am
#12 Stephen & Patricia Hoffman :

We arrived on a Sunday for a two day stay, the ocean as our back hard, the other guests were like family and Han was just plain a perfect host. He was there if you needed him other than that you were left to your own space to enjoy the home as your own. we stayed in the sea escape and the room was perfect in every way. Han will make you a breakfast that will make your taste buds dance and you will not want to stop eating it. it was hard to leave because you never had that hotel feel, it was a home.

Thanks Han for a great two days

Leave a Comment

Name

Email

Website

Previous Post
«
Next Post
»
Zionn designed by ZENVERSE  |  In conjunction with Reseller Hosting from the #1 Web Hosting Provider - HostNexus.
UA-37410202-1